Woodenheads Gourmet Pizza (Kingston)

I love eating thin rustic Neapolitan pizza. My favourite one in Toronto has always been Pizzeria Libretto on Ossington. On my first dinner in Kingston, my friend Cynthia highly recommended Woodenheads Gourmet Pizza, since she and her family loved this place and it’s also one of the most popular restaurants in the area.

DSC_0605

Woodenheads Gourmet Pizza (Twitter: @Woodenheads) is located at Kingston’s waterfront, close to the Kingston City Hall. It’s where all the actions and events are happening during summer weekends. Atmosphere is young and vibrant, good for families and dates. Tables are quite close together so noise level can be high at times. Reservations are highly recommended especially if you want to visit this place during weekends.

DSC_0608

Woodenheads offers a two page menu with lots of options. First page lists dishes such as tapas, appetizers, salads, and focaccia breads. The next page is an extensive selection of gourmet pizzas based on sauces – tomato, white, or green, or in between. There is also the “Jack’s Choice” for customers to build their own pizza.

DSC_0611

If that’s not enough, they also offer a daily special menu up on the wall.

DSC_0609

daily special

DSC_0612

Customers can watch their pizzas being prepared fresh and cooked in the wood fire oven in an open kitchen.

We decided to each get our own pizza for dinner. I had a hard time deciding what I should get while studying the menu, while Cynthia and her family, who were regular customers, had quickly picked out their favourite toppings.

DSC_0619

Citta (pomodoro sauce, brie, caramelized onion, prosciutto, fresh basil)

DSC_0614

Jack’s Choice (tomato sauce, mozzarella, artichoke hearts and portabello mushrooms)

DSC_0615

Another Jack’s Choice with blackened chicken

I finally decided upon one of the popular choices, Citta, on the menu and I really liked it! The sweetness of brie and caramelized onion really stood out, while prosciutto gave slight saltiness to the pizza but not overpowering. Crust was a bit thicker than I would usually prefer, but it was light and soft. I had not tried the other pizzas but heard great things from my friend. We weren’t big eaters so we ended up bringing the leftovers to the beach the next day. Surprisingly they still tasted good even when they were left inside a cooler!

Woodenheads definitely deserves to be one of the best pizza places in Kingston. I would say it’s even one of the best pizza places I have been so far in Ontario! I would definitely recommend anyone to come and visit this awesome restaurant while in Kingston. :)

Wooden Heads Gourmet Pizza on Urbanspoon

About joycesculinaryadventures

I love to eat; I love to cook; I love to bake; I love to shop! :D
This entry was posted in Kingston, pizzas, roadtrip and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

