Harper’s Burger Bar (Kingston)

Last week I was on my road trip to visit my childhood friend, Cynthia, who moved to Kingston a couple of years ago. As much as I kept telling her I would visit, I could never find a perfect summer weekend to drive up there. Finally I picked up my car key and off to visit this little old city.

Kingston is indeed quite small and cozy. People seem to enjoy their lives more than those in Toronto. To my surprise this city also houses some tasty local food joints. Harper’s Burger Bar is definitely one of them!

harper1

Harper’s Burger Bar (Twitter: @HarpersBurgers), a sister restaurant to Le Chien Noir Bistro, Atomica Gourmet Pizza and Wine Bar and Dianne’s Fishbar, competes with several burger joints such as the Works Burger and Five Guys Burger, which also base its home in Kingston downtown. It has a casual and friendly atmosphere, with 4 flat screen TV’s showing various shows at the same time and a huge menu written on the wall at the back. We went for our late lunch on that day so it was fairly quiet. At prime time it is often packed with students and families.

harper3

harper4

When I first looked at the menu, I was a bit overwhelmed by its choices. There were so many styles to choose from ~ patty, bun, sauce, condiment, sides. There was also a BYOB (build your own burger) option for those who want to have total control of their tastes. Our friendly server suggested me a couple of the most popular choices, and I ended up picking a beef burger on a whole wheat bun in “Umami” style – brie, balsamic candied onions, soya glazed mushrooms, white truffle aioli.

Umami Burger – brie, balsamic candied onions, soya glazed mushrooms, white truffle aioli

“Umami” Burger with fries – brie, balsamic candied onions, soya glazed mushrooms, white truffle aioli

The burger came out very hot, and it was so delicious! I really liked the fresh ingredients as well as the sweetness in the candied onions and white truffle aioli. The 6-oz burger was juicy and it was definitely much bigger than it looked. It was so thick that it was pretty messy to eat.

Too bad I was already full after finishing the burger so I couldn’t try their shakes and floats (OMG, boozy floats too!) There was also a long cocktail, beer and wine list which I hope I would come back to try next time when I visit Kingston again. :)

Bravo, Harper’s!

Harper's Burger Bar on Urbanspoon

About joycesculinaryadventures

I love to eat; I love to cook; I love to bake; I love to shop! :D
This entry was posted in burgers, Kingston, pubs, roadtrip and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

